• Dear forum visitor,

It looks as though you have not registered for a forum account, or are not signed in. In order to participate in current discussions or create new threads, you will need to register for a forum account by clicking on the link below.

Click here to register for a forum account!

If you already have a forum account, you can simply click on the 'Log in' button at the top right of your forum screen.

Your Elvenar Team

seeking laptop advice

Aritra

I have been using Apple MacBook Pro for fifteen years (not the same one, lol---current one is Retina, 15", mid-2015 model). Not interested in non-Mac. However, due to inability to afford/justify replacement cost, I am seriously considering a Windows system (ugh). Pros and cons. It'll be painful if I switch back, but I'm weighing my options. I don't do soundboarding or graphic design, but I have been spoiled by the screen and sound quality and want to make sure I don't lose that (I live here, its my TV and everything). Some years ago my dad had gotten a new laptop (microsoft) and it sure looked a lot like my MacBook but, wow, the sound was bad, tinny. I want to not make that mistake. It was ten years ago that happened so maybe general quality is such that it is no longer a concern, but hopefully you get what I'm saying. I need it to support Adobe products (acrobat pro, photoshop, InDesign CS5--though I may let that go and return to MS Publisher, which is what I used before discovering InDesign fifteen years ago). I don't know if there is anything that can convert my InDesign files or if my only choice is to recreate---that would suck. I don't know how to read the specs to know if/how much I'm backsliding into macbook alternative, and if the cost isn't significantly lower than MacBook, then it defeats the purpose (not only purchase price, but if I switch to non-Mac, I'll have to repurchase software and that could potentially make up the difference, which has been one of my arguments against switching). I