• Dear forum visitor,

It looks as though you have not registered for a forum account, or are not signed in. In order to participate in current discussions or create new threads, you will need to register for a forum account by clicking on the link below.

Click here to register for a forum account!

If you already have a forum account, you can simply click on the 'Log in' button at the top right of your forum screen.

Your Elvenar Team

Concise writing

ajqtrz

Chef - loquacious Old Dog
FWIW, I read for a living, so when I hit a wall of text in a game forum, it better be captivating or my eyes grey it out. For example, @crackie your post was very informative for a literary type who also loves technology. I do remember responsive design from one of the cs classes that I took when I decided to change careers and then realized that I would be competing with kids who grew up with computers when I graduated.

Any other text walls might have been greyed out by my eyes, or I just didn't have anything to add.
My initial response to your response was not pleasant. Why? Because, honestly, I skimmed it. I saw the all to familiar "wall of text" and read it as a negative comment. And maybe it was, but then, because I'm working on being more understanding of what others have written, I went back and read it carefully. My initial reaction was wrong as it was more a comment about what you expect in a forum.

I often get the "wall of text" or "TL:DR" response. More than I like. I've tried to shorten and condense my writing and anybody who follows me may see that I've improved. On the other hand, while there is such thing as a "wall of text," I doubt I've ever posted one, in spite of my critics claims. But I have a more nuanced idea about what constitutes a "wall of text."